top of page
  • Foto van schrijverkianadepicker

Time is moving fast!


English version


Another month has passed, in two weeks we’re May. I’m halfway my journey here and the end of my bachelor thesis is getting closer. Due to the fact that I could only start my research in week 7, I lost a lot of time. Also, I had to change the complete idea of my thesis because we still don’t have a reagent yet. It will be delivered in the beginning of June, when my thesis should be finished. That’s inconvenient because the reagent should have been delivered in January. Also on of the three hoods is broken. But that is research, nothing happens the way you wanted and you have to be open for new ideas. You have to be creative and use the tools you have. No lab has al the newest machines or products. The stress in the lab is rising. The deadline for the master students is coming closer and some of the PHD students are going abroad. One girl is even going to the Netherlands the same period that I’m going home.


Last weekend I went to the Blyde River Canyon with some people from Tuksdorp. The nature here in South-Africa keeps surprising me. In this country, nature can still be wild and free. During our travels we encountered some monkeys that were crossing the road. Just chilling, no hurries. When we were on top of a mountain, we could only see green, from where we were standing to the horizon. So sad that we don’t have anything like that anymore in Belgium?


Before I forget, Happy Easter!!!!


You can find all the pictures in the album 'Blyde River'





Nederlandse versie


We zijn weer bijna aan het einde van een maand. Nog twee weken en we zijn al mei. Ik ben nu al over de helft van mijn stage en het einde van mijn bachelorproef begint in zicht te komen. Doordat ik pas in week 7 kon beginnen aan mijn assay’s loop ik erg achter. Ook heb ik mijn proef volledig moeten aanpassen aangezien we pas in juni een bepaald product zullen krijgen. Een product dat we in januari hadden moeten krijgen. Ook een van de drie flowkasten werkt niet meer. Maar dat is onderzoek natuurlijk, niks loopt zoals je had verwacht en je moet openstaan voor nieuwe dingen. Soms moet je creatief zijn met de dingen die je ter beschikking hebt. Niet elk labo heeft alle nieuwe snufjes en producten. De stress in het labo is ook aan het stijgen. De deadline voor de master studenten komt in zicht en enkele PHD studenten maken zich klaar om naar het buitenland te gaan. Een meisje komt zelf naar Nederland dezelfde periode als ik naar huis ga.


Vorig weekend ben ik naar de Blyde river Canyon geweest met enkele mensen uit Tuksdorp. De natuur blijft me verbazen hier in Zuid-Afrika. Hier kan de natuur nog zijn vrije gang gaan. Tijdens onze rit kwamen we apen tegen die op hun gemak de baan overstaken. In de bergen kon je alleen maar groen zien, zover je kon kijken. Wat jammer toch dat we dat niet meer hebben in België?


Voor ik het vergeet, Zalig Pasen!!!!


Je kan alle foto's terug vinden in het album 'Blyde river'

93 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page